Outstanding Achievement, Women in Plant Mutation Breeding and Young Scientist Awards

Deadline for submission of nomination extended to 31 March 2021!!


Six years have elapsed since researchers in plant mutation breeding were last recognized for their contributions to the field with Superior and Outstanding Achievement Awards at the IAEA 58th General Conference, on the 50th Anniversary of the Joint FAO/IAEA Centre. The event, in 2014, was very successful, received excellent feedback, and was picked up by the national media in many member countries. Much progress in the field of plant mutation breeding has been achieved in the six years since then, which has prompted recommendations from member countries to hold a similar recognition event to promote further application of the science and its impact. Thus, the Sponsoring Organizations are once again seeking nominations for one or more individuals, teams or institutes in the following categories:

  • Outstanding Achievement Award;
  • Women in Plant Mutation Breeding Award; and
  • Young Scientist Award.

Nominations must be based on one or more of the following criteria:

  • Outstanding progress in developing and releasing mutant varieties in terms of the number of released mutant varieties with improved traits in important crops since 2010;
  • Mutant varieties with the strongest socio-economic impact in the last ten years in terms of yield gains and increased income to local farmers and the contribution to the economy of the respective member country;
  • Acceptance by farmers of the released mutant varieties including steps to involve farmers in speeding up the cultivation and expansion of improved mutant varieties;
  • Significant contribution to the advancement of agricultural productivity through research in plant breeding and genetics;
  • Efficient implementation of a plant breeding programme; and
  • Exceptional scientific work of young researchers in the field of plant mutation breeding.

The Awards will take the form of a certificate and they will be officially announced during the 65th regular session of the IAEA General Conference, which will be held at the IAEA’s Headquarters in Vienna, Austria, from 20 to 24 September 2021.

Selection Panel

A Selection Panel will review all submitted nominations and make recommendations for awards. The Selection Panel will be chaired by the Director of the Joint FAO/IAEA Centre of Nuclear Techniques in Food and Agriculture and will include staff members of the Joint Centre’s Plant Breeding and Genetics Section, selected FAO staff members and internationally acknowledged experts in the application of nuclear techniques in plant breeding.

Submission of Nominations

Nominations must be submitted using the Nomination Form or by request to the Joint Centre (Email: NAFA.Contact-Point@iaea.org). The form provides a means of listing measurable achievements. Completed forms should be endorsed by governmental authorities, including the Permanent Missions to the IAEA or FAO. They must be received by the Joint Centre no later than 31 March 2021. Nominations received after that date or submissions not containing the completed Nomination Form cannot be considered. The Selection Panel will collect and distribute appropriately all documentation concerned.

Background Information and Nomination Form in .pdf can be found here.