IAEA Fusion Energy Conference 2008

Proceedings of the 22nd IAEA Fusion Energy Conference
Geneva, 13-18 October 2008

Organized by the
International Atomic Energy Agency and
hosted by the Government of Switzerland



Recognizing the prominent global role of nuclear energy, and with the expectation that nuclear fusion will provide an abundant source of energy, the International Atomic Energy Agency (IAEA) supports the exchange of scientific and technical information on fusion research through conferences, meetings and projects. The 22nd IAEA Fusion Energy Conference (FEC 2008), organized by the IAEA in cooperation with the Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, in Lausanne, Switzerland, provided a forum for presenting and discussing recent progress and developments in fusion experiments, theory and technology. The IAEA wishes to express its gratitude to the host.

The historical second United Nations Conference on the Peaceful Uses of Atomic Energy, held in Geneva in 1958, proved to be an important event for fusion research. This conference involved the participation of 61 countries, with 21 countries exhibiting fusion devices, fission reactors, alternative concepts and models of nuclear power plants. In 1958 for the first time, the Soviet Union, the United Kingdom and the United States of America declassified their fusion research and shared their results and experience. This helped to provide a global awareness of the enormous challenges that nuclear fusion would need to overcome in order to one day serve as a clean and practically inexhaustible energy source for the benefit of all humanity. Historical Retrospect

Since then, remarkable progress in fusion research has been made, doubling the achieved fusion triple product every 1.8 years since the mid-1960s. The main goal for the future is to demonstrate that the energy released by the controlled thermonuclear fusion of deuterium and tritium will exceed the energy necessary to initiate and maintain the burning process. This is expected to be demonstrated by the International Thermonuclear Experimental Reactor (ITER) being built at Cadarache, France, as a joint venture between China, the European Union, India, Japan, the Republic of Korea, the Russian Federation and the United States of America. The study of the engineering requirements and the physics of the burning fusion plasma will lead to the first demonstration reactor for fusion. The worldwide effort in fusion has now reached an important milestone by entering the burning plasma era.

Responding to the need for international collaboration in addressing the challenges of developing the first generation of burning plasma devices, the FEC 2008 provided a timely forum for bringing together the main players shaping the future of fusion development. With contributions from international organizations such as the ITER-IO and EURATOM, as well as the collaboration of more than 40 countries and many institutes, including those working on smaller plasma devices, this conference helped to identify possibilities for and means of effective international collaboration embracing the full spectrum of contributors.

The conference was attended by 726 experts from 41 countries and 4 international organizations. The programme committee selected a total of 505 papers distributed over 22 overview talks, 483 regular talks (including 21 rapporteur papers and 2 post-deadline talks), 329 regular posters, 1 overview poster and 8 post-deadline posters. In addition, 2 fusion pioneer memorial lectures, 5 summary lectures and 4 evening lectures were given.

On 13 October 2008, the opening day of the conference, a cooperative agreement between the IAEA and ITER was signed by ITER Director-General Kaname Ikeda and IAEA Deputy Director General Yuri Sokolov. This agreement will enhance research on fusion and strengthen the working relationship between the two organizations.

The Nuclear Fusion Awards for 2007 and 2008 were presented on 16 October 2008 by IAEA Deputy Director General Werner Burkart, who noted that the work of the laureates, T.E. Evans and C. Angioni, has stimulated ITER physics and design, and encouraged potentially important improvements. The laureates' work is an exceptional example of how theory, modelling and experiment come together in an international scientific environment.

Previous conferences in this series were held in Salzburg (1961), Culham (1965), Novosibirsk (1968), Madison (1971), Tokyo (1974), Berchtesgaden (1976), Innsbruck (1978), Brussels (1980), Baltimore (1982), London (1984), Kyoto (1986), Nice (1988), Washington, D.C. (1990), Würzburg (1992), Seville (1994), Montreal (1996), Yokohama (1998), Sorrento (2000), Lyon (2002), Vilamoura (2004) and Chengdu (2006).

The next IAEA Fusion Energy Conference will be held in Daejon, Republic of Korea, 11-16 October 2010. Information will be available through this link.

Acknowledgments are conveyed to the Programme Committee under the chairmanship of Mr. M. Kikuchi. The IAEA officers responsible for the conference and these proceedings were Mr. G. Mank and Mr. A. Malaquias of the Nuclear Science programme.


The scientific experimental and theoretical papers have been grouped with respect to the following themes:

  • OV: Overviews;
  • EX: Magnetic Confinement Experiments;
  • TH: Magnetic Confinement Theory and Modelling;
  • IT: ITER Activities;
  • IF: Inertial Fusion Experiments and Theory;
  • IC: Innovative Concepts;
  • FT: Fusion Technology and Power Plant Design;
  • SE: Safety, Environmental and Economic Aspects of Fusion.