IAEA Fusion Energy Conference 2010

Proceedings of the 23rd IAEA Fusion Energy Conference
Daejeon, 11-16 October 2010

Organized by the International Atomic Energy Agency
and hosted by the Government of the Republic of Korea



Responding to the need for international collaboration in addressing the challenges of developing the first generation of burning plasma devices, the FEC 2010 provided a timely forum for bringing together the main players shaping the future of fusion development. With contributions from international organizations such as the ITER-IO and EURATOM, as well as the collaboration of more than 39 countries and many institutes, including those working on smaller plasma devices, this conference helped to identify possibilities for and means of effective international collaboration embracing the full spectrum of contributors.

The conference was opened on 11 October by IAEA Deputy Director General Werner Burkart in the presence of Korean dignitaries such as HE Prime Minister Kim Hwang-sik, HE Minister of Education, Science and Technology J. H. Lee, Mr Hyun Su Kim of the Big Science Foundation Division and Mayor Hong-Chul Yum of Daejeon Metropolitan City.

The Nuclear Fusion Awards for 2009 and 2010 were presented on 11 October 2010 by IAEA Deputy Director General Werner Burkart. The 2009 recipient is Mr Steven A. Sabbagh, USA (as the lead author of a landmark paper which reports record parameters of normalised plasma pressure in a large spherical torus plasma and presents a thorough investigation of the physics of Resistive Wall Mode (RWM) instability) and the 2010 recipient is Mr John E. Rice, USA (as the lead author of a seminal paper that analyzes results across a range of machines in order to develop a universal scaling that can be used to predict intrinsic plasma rotation).

The FEC 2010 was preceded by the first International Youth Conference on Fusion Energy (IYC) held from 9 to 10 October 2010 in Daejeon, Republic of Korea and hosted by the Government of the Republic of Korea through its National Fusion Research Institute (NFRI). The IYC was organized by NFRI in cooperation with the IAEA and was attended by some 150 university and graduate school students.

The next IAEA Fusion Energy Conference will be held in San Diego, California, United States of America, 8-13 October 201.

Acknowledgments are conveyed to the Programme Committee under the chairmanship of Mr. M. Porkolab. The IAEA officers responsible for the conference and these proceedings were Mr. G. Mank and Mr. R. Kamendje of the Division of Phisical and Chemical Sciences.


The scientific experimental and theoretical papers have been grouped with respect to the following themes:

  • OV: Overviews;
  • EX: Magnetic Confinement Experiments;
  • TH: Magnetic Confinement Theory and Modelling;
  • ITR: ITER Activities;
  • IFE: Inertial Fusion Experiments and Theory;
  • ICC: Innovative Confinement Concepts;
  • FTP: Fusion Technology and Power Plant Design;
  • SEE: Safety, Environmental and Economic Aspects of Fusion.